Why Cats Are Better Than Dogs

Pastromi Toxin
3 min readApr 28, 2021

Cats and dogs are both great pets, but let me tell you why cats are superior! Remember, this is all in good fun, so don’t take it personally!

Back when I was younger, I always thought dogs were the best pets in the world.

My grandma had these two adorable Yorkie Terriers. The picture below isn’t them, but close enough. These dogs are super cute, right?

Dogs are affectionate, playful, and easily lovable. But maybe that’s to their detriment.

Let’s compare them with cats real quick. The common myth of cats is that they’re aggressive, selfish, and will destroy your furniture with their lethal claws. That CAN be true, but that depends on the personality of the cat plus the way the cat is treated by the owner.

The television show “My Cat From Hell”, demonstrates how cats will chase their owners, or just simply attack them. Tsk, tsk, tsk! That’s preposterous! It’s not fair to paint cats in such light because it turns people away from adopting them, but they most definitely need love too!

Personally, I prefer cats (but I guess you could tell that from the title, huh?) For me, it’s about having to put in work to forge a strong bond. In my experience, puppies are very open to showing affection and playing around with you on day 1. Kittens, however, will hide between anything they can squeeze themselves into just to get away from you. You give them a home and that’s the thanks you get!

Eventually, that same frightful kitten with come to terms with your presence and show respect to you. I appreciate that you have to slowly build up a sense of trust between the two of you to the point where the cat is comfortable enough to reveal its belly (the ultimate sign of respect for cats!)

With dogs, well…there’s nothing really like that. They love you if you treat them well, but it isn’t really much of a challenge, you know what I mean? Am I the weirdo here for wanting a challenge from my pets? Maybe, but cats won’t just let you push them around. Those little homies will fight back if you aren’t treating them well, so respect them as a family member!

I have a tuxedo cat, and she’s the cutest thing in the universe. Here’s a picture of MY cat:

My cat, the super cutie

She’s a bit lazy, and kind of likes to cause trouble. For example, she struts her way to the kitchen entrance and spreads all the way out just to block it. Maybe she just likes the spot, but I know she’s being a little diva. Or when she tries to swipe your ankles sometimes on the way by.

And I know what you’re thinking, “Unidentified author, you just said not all cats try to hurt their owners but you JUST said she sometimes swipes your ankles!”

No, no, no, you’ve got it all wrong? She always swipes us, but her claws aren’t fully out. She never tries to hurt us, and it just proves that she’s come to love and respect us. Though, if we were talking about cats vs. dogs in a robbery situation well…sorry, my lovely cat, but I’m gonna have to give dogs the edge on this one!

I’ll give you a preview of next time, but it’ll only be an image, so stay tuned for more miscellaneous content!

Preview:

Ultra Instinct Goku (Source: Dragonball FighterZ)

References :

“My Cat From Hell” — TV Show

“It’s Over 9000!!!”

“I summon You Forth, Shenron!”

--

--